M46, 6th Tank Battalion, 1951. The Patton Project Pt.I

Here is the place to show off the progress of your armor builds
Stikpusher

M46, 6th Tank Battalion, 1951. The Patton Project Pt.I

Post by Stikpusher »

A new week and a new project begins! So Cal AMPS has been doing a Patton family GB of all AFVs in the Patton family, and this is my first build for the project, DML’s (now known as Dragon) 1/35 M46.

I will be building mine in the markings of the US Army 6th Tank Battalion with their famous “tiger faces” worn during the counteroffensive of Winter/Spring 1951 to push the Chicom forces back across the 38th parallel after their devastating entry into the Korean War. This period saw what are without a doubt some of the most colorful looking tanks ever fielded by the US Army, and especially in combat.

Anyways, this afternoon I was able to complete steps 1 & 2, building all of the wheels and the transmission housing. I have built two previous related kits, DML’s T26E3 and M26A1 Pershing’s, which share many common parts, as all three tanks are very similar to one another. Each type is an evolutionary development from the previous model. So there are no real surprises for me to watch out for now.

So far, so good, and I should have more progress tomorrow...
"Surely I have made my meaning plain? I intend to avenge myself upon you, Admiral. I have deprived your ship of power, and when I swing 'round, I intend to deprive you of your life."

FLSM
Floki
Elite Member

Re: M46, 6th Tank Battalion, 1951

Post by Floki »

Nice a Patton! I'm guessing this is a lot nicer kit compared to the old Tamiya.
March as one, Don't look back
Odin's sons... Attack!
Unleash hell! Do not repent! Warfare grants us no lament
Let your weapons slash and tear This is no place for fear
Hold the lines! Move as one! In unity our victory's won
Our shields will form a mighty wall
United we shall never fall
Stikpusher

Post by Stikpusher »