Airfix 1/72nd Victor K.2 Op Black Buck

Post your work in progress of your aircraft builds in here.
Bish
Master Member

Airfix 1/72nd Victor K.2 Op Black Buck

Post by Bish »

Been looking forward to building this, as soon as it came out i knew what i was going to be doing with it. I've never done any of the V Bombers before, and i was recently pleased to see Airfix are re-releaseing the Valiant and am hoping for a Black Buck version of the Vulcan. But firstly, the Victor, there is a lot of kit in this box, and even without the bomber parts, its not going to be a quicky build. I am adding Eduard PE plus resin wheels and a few other AM parts. I am still awaiting the re-release of a couple of pieces of ground equipment from AIM, but if need be i wil add those later if they are not released before this is done.

Starting out with the interior, from what i could find online i made a few changes to what Airfix recomends. Also, i noticed bthat the eduard interior set does not simply replace some of the consoles but it completly changes some. From what i could find the PE looked correct and so i checked the instructions for the previous bomber release which i found on scalemates. Airfix have not changed anything on the inside from their bomber boxing, and it does make sense that the 2 would be different. Once i worked all that out, i got going, the 2 front seats were painted, weathered and then the PE was added. The instructions said to paint the cushions yellow but this didn't seem right, the photo's seem to show grey, so thats what i went with.

And the rear seats along with the rudder pedals.

The cabin floor with some PE already added. One of the seat bases was removed as it seems the tanker has 3 in the back rather than 4.

And the rear console with the desk painted for wood, coloured PE will go on the console face later.