OOB Revell 1998 Trans Am-Now In Completed Section

Here is the place to show off the progress of your automobile builds
mustang1989

OOB Revell 1998 Trans Am-Now In Completed Section

Post by mustang1989 »

I’m going to try something new folks. I’ve been building models now on and off for the past 4 decades. I’ve only been a more dedicated and active builder in the last 9 or so years. Being a modeler who likes details I often spend 6+ months on any given build with my quickest turn out being around 3 months. With all that being said-my threads tend to be rather lengthy. What I’m shooting for is to start a thread with a model build that will be as close to OOB as possible with just a few scratch-built changes. No aftermarket upgrades, no fancy PE sets …..notta. The aim is to complete a build without a whole lot of complications. This….is going to be a challenge for me on a number of levels but one that I hope to meet.

I've been wanting to build a late 90's / early 2000's Trans Am for a while now. I was working in a Pontiac Dealership as an auto tech when the 1998 Trans Am equipped with the new LS1 engine were being freshly delivered and I instantly fell in love with these cars. I mean the 93-97 T/A's were nice but these...….were A LOT faster than their LT1 equipped counterparts. No factory American built car had given me the "butterflies in the stomach" feeling under hard acceleration the way my first test drive in one of these things had. Beautiful and fast cars these were and even though I never actually owned one, I got several chances to drive pre-sold and the used offerings that were there on that lot (SIDE NOTE HERE-I was NOT one of those techs who went out joyriding in owners vehicles-just a wrong thing to do to another man’s car) and I loved every minute of it.
The Kit:

And....we'll be going with a red one in honor of the Red Rocker Sammy Hagar. This thing just screams "I Can't Drive 55". :giggles:

LyleW
Admin

Re: OOB Revell 1998 Trans Am

Post by LyleW »